Time is but an Obstacle

If you ever asked me what superpower I wish to have, at this point, I’d have to say I wish I had the power to stop time. Time is just its own little thing, going at its own pace without giving a care about anything else in the world.

I guess you can say that I’m the kind of person who likes to keep myself busy, but I’m also someone who loves to do a little too much. I always find myself interested in the most random activities, yet never have sufficient time to endorse myself into these activities due to other tasks higher on my “Important/Top Priority” list.

If I had the choice to do everything I wanted to do, here’s how the list would go in no particular order:

  •  Study enough to get a good grade in my summer course
  • Work my part-time job and make sufficient cash to pay off next year’s university/tuition/living fees
  • Go on walks all over Toronto to take photos
  • Spend a lot of  time with my family and friends – I feel like I barely have the time to do this nowadays
  • Volunteer at a hospital, shadow doctors 
  • Learn how to produce music and beats 
  • Learn how to play the guitar
  • Choreograph a dance weekly
  • Learn how to play a song on the piano on a monthly basis
  • Watch all the TV shows and anime I’ve had on my “To Watch” list for the longest time
  • Work out
  • Learn how to cook
  • Write a lot of blog posts
  • Draw portraits
  • Try out some of the amazing restaurants recommended by BlogTO

Okay, that list was a lot longer than I anticipated for it to be. I don’t mind if you totally skimmed over it – but do you see my point? I want to do so much, and regardless of the fact that it’s supposed to be summer vacation, I find that I don’t even have enough time to partake in 50% of the items on that list! 

It really does suck having to always prioritize what’s more “important,” depending on what you define to be important, but to be honest, I feel like trying to do all of this at once wouldn’t let me enjoy everything as much. If I were able to control time so that I could only focus on one thing at a time, I’d probably be wasting opportunities to enhance my skills in something else. I mean, do we REALLY know what’s best for us to the point where we can control exactly how our life should proceed?

Perhaps time exists as a source of control. I mean, if we somehow were able to make time go slowly, have it stop as we wanted it to, change the number of hours in a day, etc. I don’t think it would really benefit us in the longrun. I mean isn’t the purpose of deadlines to allow us to practice the element of balance? This “balance” situation comes off as very difficult to a lot of people – especially students in today’s generation. However, be honest; would you be more pleased with accomplishing a task that comes off as easy to everyone else, or with accomplishing a task that a lot of people label as challenging? I’m sure more pleasure and adrenaline would come out of achieving the second option, right? The strive to achieving this is what keeps a lot of us going. Having everything come off as easy would leave no one with any ambition. 

Time is but an obstacle we must work around. Although it really does suck to always have to prioritize the things that don’t interest you as much as the tasks that you keep putting off, just know that checking things off one by one as you complete them efficiently in the limited amount of time presented to you is a lot more rewarding than being privileged with controlling things to be the way you want them to be. 

“We can’t always have what we want, but if we can manage to work with what we have, the results may turn out to be better than anticipated. Why? Because there’s always a purpose for the way things turn out.” -Me

Cheers 😁

Leave a Reply

